revolution beuys
mo-schaufenster#27

exhibition
museum ostwall im dortmunder u
13 aug to 17 oct 2021
joseph beuys, o. t. (signierstunde intuition), 1972
joseph beuys, o. t. (signierstunde intuition), 1972

». . . Epistemology raises these practical questions: How will people live one day? What paths do people have to take? . . . I only want power to be defined in such a way that I can say it results from insight and reason.« Joseph Beuys, 1968a

dealing with history is about the both the present and the future. form-finding in various media, artistic representation, and the daily staging of empowerment as a global cultural technique all directly connect with questions posed in beuys’s work. the motor of »insight« and »reason« instigate moments of self-empowerment that beuys expresses in his art and in his words: »make use of the power that you have through your right to self-determination! all of you!«joseph beuys, 1970c

this collaborative exhibition project, presented in the schaufenster exhibition space in museum ostwall, assembles objects and issues in a setting that combines political action and reaction. it addresses historic, current, and future processes of social interaction, forms of activism, and assumptions about the human condition. this project involving museum ostwall and tu dortmund (iaeb) codes the exhibition space as a social laboratory and as a place of »permanent conference«, thereby enabling visitors to engage in a critical discussion ranging from the objects and concepts on display to themes appropriated by beuys.

curated by sarah hübscher and elvira neuendank

museum ostwall im dortmunder u
Event Partner Address
leonie-reygers-terrasse 1 

44137 dortmund

revolution beuys
mo-schaufenster #27

ausstellung
museum ostwall im dortmunder u
13. aug bis 17. okt 2021
joseph beuys, o. t. (signierstunde intuition), 1972
joseph beuys, o. t. (signierstunde intuition), 1972

»[…] An die Erkenntnistheorie schließen sich einfach diese praktischen Fragen an: Wie werden die Menschen eines Tages leben? Und welche Wege muss man beschreiten? […] Nur so möchte ich Macht definiert wissen, dass ich sage, sie resultiert aus der Einsicht und aus der Vernunft.« joseph beuys, 1968a

der umgang mit geschichte ist gegenwärtig und ist zukunftsfrage. die mediale formfindung, künstlerische darstellung und alltägliche inszenierung von empowerment als globale kulturtechnik knüpfen unmittelbar an die im werk von beuys gestellten fragen an. der motor aus »einsicht« und »vernunft« provoziert momente der selbstermächtigung, die beuys in seinen werken und worten zum ausdruck bringt: »macht gebrauch von eurer macht, die ihr habt durch das recht auf selbstbestimmung! alle!« joseph beuys, 1970c

das kollaborative ausstellungsprojekt versammelt im schaufenster, einem ausstellungsraum im museum ostwall, objekte und fragestellungen zu einem setting aus politischer aktion und reaktion. es diskutiert historische, gegenwärtige und zukünftige prozesse gesellschaftlicher interaktion, aktivismusformen und menschenbildannahmen. das projekt zwischen museum ostwall und tu dortmund (iaeb) codiert den ausstellungsraum zum gesellschaftslabor und zum ort einer »permanenten konferenz« und ermöglicht so den besucher*innen eine kritische diskussion zwischen objekten und konzepten und den von beuys besetzten themen.

kuratiert von sarah hübscher und elvira neuendank

museum ostwall im dortmunder u
Event Partner Address
leonie-reygers-terrasse 1 

44137 dortmund