heiner goebbels: a house of call
my imaginary notebook (2020)

concert
ensemble modern orchestra at tonhalle düsseldorf
7 sep 2021, 8 pm
heiner goebbels, ruhrtriennale 2012
heiner goebbels, ruhrtriennale 2012

»the idea of music is more of a future idea, not something that should refer to the past.« joseph beuys, 1985d

the beuys celebrations in 2021 could not pass by without special consideration being given to his impact on other art forms and on the work of artists today whose ideas, methods and themes would hardly have come about in their present form without his influence. the artist and composer heiner goebbels is inspired both by beuys’s musical fluxus actions and by the political and ecological dimensions of his art. goebbels’s most recent orchestral work »a house of call. my imaginary notebook« has multiple connections with prominent themes in beuys’s work: foreign voices from central asia, georgia and iran are heard in this »lieder evening for orchestra« as are ritual language forms devised by samuel beckett and heiner müller, which are juxtaposed with shamanistic recitations by indigenous peoples in colombia. as if executing secular responses, the whole orchestra reacts to these cries, utterances, prayers and incantations.

ensemble modern orchestra, vimbayi kaziboni (conductor), heiner goebbels and diego ramos rodríguez (instrumentation), heiner goebbels and hendrik borowski (lighting director), norbert ommer (sound director)

composition commissioned by ensemble modern, berliner festspiele/musikfest berlin, kölner philharmonie, beuys 2021, elbphilharmonie hamburg, musica viva/bayerischer rundfunk, wien modern und casa da música. a project for bthvn 2020. supported by the federal government commissioner for culture and the media.

the concert in düsseldorf is sponsored by Kunststiftung nrw.

a publication to the concert will be published by neofelis verlag in august 2021.

 

tickets are available at the box office and in advance: via the tonhalle webshop and for reduced tickets (students, pensioners, trainees, unemployed, recipients of Hartz IV benefits, holders of the düsseldorf pass) by telephone 0211 - 91 38 75 38 or e-mail konzertkasse@tonhalle.de.

in accordance with the current corona protection ordinance in nrw, proof of convalescence, complete vaccination or negative test results (not older than 24 hours) must be presented upon admission. the obligation to wear a medical mask remains in force throughout the entire house - including at the seats. information on public operations and protective measures in the Tonhalle can be found here.

 

tonhalle düsseldorf
Event Partner Address
ehrenhof 1
40479 düsseldorf

heiner goebbels: a house of call
my imaginary notebook (2020)

konzert
ensemble modern orchestra in der tonhalle düsseldorf
7. sep 2021, 20 uhr
heiner goebbels, ruhrtriennale 2012
heiner goebbels, ruhrtriennale 2012

»die idee der musik ist eine mehr zukünftige und keine, die sich auf die vergangenheit beziehen darf.« joseph beuys, 1985d

zu einem beuys-jubiläum 2021 gehören auch dessen ausstrahlung auf die nachbarkünste und auf zeitgenössische werke von künstler*innen, die ohne die impulse, arbeitsweisen, und themen von joseph beuys kaum denkbar gewesen wären. von dessen musikalischen fluxus-aktionen ebenso wie von den politischen und ökologischen dimensionen seiner arbeiten inspiriert ist der künstler und komponist heiner goebbels. sein neuestes orchesterwerk »a house of call. my imaginary notebook« weist viele verbindungslinien zu den themen auf, die im werk von beuys eine große bedeutung haben: fremde stimmen aus zentralasien, georgien und iran tauchen in diesem »liederabend für orchester« ebenso auf wie die rituellen sprachformen von samuel beckett und heiner müller, die unmittelbar neben einem schamanistischen diskurs kolumbianischer indigener zu hören sind. wie in einem säkularen responsorium ist hier das ganze orchester aufgerufen, auf die rufe, sprechakte, gebete und inkantationen zu antworten. 

ensemble modern orchestra; vimbayi kaziboni (leitung), heiner goebbels und diego ramos rodríguez (instrumentation), heiner goebbels und hendrik borowski (lichtregie), norbert ommer (klangregie)

kompositionsauftrag von ensemble modern, berliner festspiele/musikfest berlin, kölner philharmonie, beuys 2021, elbphilharmonie hamburg, musica viva/bayerischer rundfunk, wien modern und casa da música. ein projekt im rahmen von bthvn 2020. gefördert durch die beauftragte der bundesregierung für kultur und medien.

die aufführung in düsseldorf wird gefördert durch die kunststiftung nrw.

Zum Konzert erscheint am 31. August 2021 eine Begleitpublikation im Neofelis Verlag.

 

Karten sind an der abendkasse und im Vorverkauf erhältlich: über den Webshop der Tonhalle sowie für ermäßigte Tickets (Studierende, Schüler:innen, Rentner:innen, Auszubildende, Arbeitslose, Hartz-IV-Empfänger:innen, Inhaber:innen des Düsseldorf-Pass) über telefon 0211 – 91 38 75 38 oder E-Mail konzertkasse@tonhalle.de. 

Entsprechend der aktuellen Corona-Schutzverordnung in NRW ist bei Einlass ein Nachweis zu Genesung, vollständiger Impfung oder negativem Testergebnis (nicht älter als 24h) vorzulegen. Die Pflicht zum Tragen einer medizinischen Maske bleibt im gesamten haus  auch am sitzplatz  bestehen. Informationen zum Publikumsbetrieb bzw. Schutzmaßnahmen in der Tonhalle finden Sie hier.

tonhalle düsseldorf
Event Partner Address
ehrenhof 1
40479 düsseldorf