beuys 2021
100 years of joseph beuys – a survey

book presentation
location to be anounced
autumn 2021
joseph beuys, scheveningen, 1976  foto: caroline tisdall
joseph beuys, scheveningen, 1976  foto: caroline tisdall

»We need the sharpest minds.« Joseph Beuys 1979c

Who was Joseph Beuys? What do our thoughts, our feelings and desires have to do with sculpture? Is art the only revolutionary force? Is the future a category of art? Are these even the questions we need to be asking? 100 years after the birth of Joseph Beuys, one of the most significant twentieth-century artists, the German state of North Rhine-Westphalia is rearticulating these questions so fundamental to both his art and thought.

The book begins with a critical interrogation of the history of the reception of Joseph Beuys conducted by the artistic directors of »beuys 2021. 100 years of joseph beuys«, Catherine Nichols and Eugen Blume. Focusing on key publications from the beginning of Beuys’s career to the present day that have documented and formed his practice over time, their unique and highly visual analysis offers an accessible insight into the problem with Beuys. They reflect on the ongoing construction and deconstruction of this equally contentious and captivating public figure, whose idiosyncratic, self-mythologizing, syncretic approach to history continues to polarize responses to the artist and his work even today. Their analysis is followed by a series of essays by renowned authors who reflect from different perspectives on the overall outcomes and contribution to scholarship emerging from North Rhine-Westphalia’s centenary programme.

The second section of the book examines the media response to »beuys 2021«. An overview essay explores the most recent reactions to the legacy and the treatment of Joseph Beuys, situating the current enquiry within the context of the artist’s overall reception. The essay is accompanied by selected newspaper articles offering an insight into palpably polarising impact of Beuys 100 years after his birth.

In the following section the book provides an overview of the extensive program of »beuys 2021. 100 years of joseph beuys«. Here the 32 events comprising the centenary, including exhibitions, performances, concerts, film screenings, lectures, labs, symposia and podcasts, are introduced in brief essays that contribute to the overall interrogation of what makes this artist as controversial as he is contemporary. They look at his ideas on democracy, ecology, education, capital and the possibility of a universal subject. Together they explore Beuys’s complex oeuvre, consider his international impact and evaluate the revolutionary potential of his thought.

The volume concludes with an imaginary conversation with Beuys on 15 issues of relevance to our times. Featuring original works by the award-winning, internationally renowned graphic designers cyan, Berlin, the dialogue brings together a multitude of voices from many different spheres, generations and cultures who enter into a richly associative, critical dialogue with the artist’s well-known aphorisms. Together they explore the genesis, viability and relevance of Beuys’s vision of a future based on the principles of art.

edited by eugen blume and catherine nichols

 

steidl, göttingen publishing house 
cyan, berlin book design 
384 pages
16.5 × 22 cm
50 black-and-white, 170 colour images
four-colour process with four fluorescent colours
two different paper types, thread stitching
autumn 2021publication date
available in separate german and english editions
isbn 978-3-95829-922-1 
48,00 €

location to be announced

beuys 2021
100 jahre joseph beuys – eine bilanz

buchpräsentation
ort wird noch bekannt gegeben
herbst 2021
joseph beuys, scheveningen, 1976  foto: caroline tisdall
joseph beuys, scheveningen, 1976  foto: caroline tisdall

»Wir brauchen die stärksten der Geister.« Joseph Beuys 1979c

Wer war Joseph Beuys? Was haben unser Denken, unser Fühlen und Wollen mit Plastik zu tun? Ist Kunst die einzige revolutionäre Kraft? Ist Zukunft eine Kategorie der Kunst? Sind das überhaupt die richtigen Fragen? 100 Jahre nach der Geburt von Joseph Beuys, einem der weltweit bedeutendsten Künstler des 20. Jahrhunderts, stellt das Land Nordrhein-Westfalen diese seiner Kunst wie seinem Denken zugrundeliegenden Fragen neu.

Das Buch beginnt mit einer kritischen Auseinandersetzung mit der Rezeptionsgeschichte von Joseph Beuys durch die Herausgeber:innen und künstlerische Leiter:innen von »beuys 2021. 100 jahre joseph beuys«, Catherine Nichols und Eugen Blume. Dabei beleuchten sie die zentralen Publikationen von und zu Joseph Beuys, die seine Rezeption seit seinem ersten öffentlichen Auftritt dokumentiert und geprägt haben. Mit ihrer reich bebilderten Analyse bieten sie einen zugänglichen Einblick in das »Problem Beuys«. Sie reflektieren die fortwährende Konstruktion und Dekonstruktion dieser ebenso umstrittenen wie anregenden öffentlichen Figur, deren Umgang mit Geschichte bis heute die Geister scheidet. Es folgen Essays von renommierten Autorinnen und Autoren, die aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven über die wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse des in Nordrhein-Westfalen stattfindenden Jubiläumsprogramms reflektieren.

Der zweite Teil des Buches beleuchtet die Medienresonanz zu Beuys 2021. Ein Überblicksessay analysiert die neuesten Reaktionen auf das Erbe und den Umgang mit Joseph Beuys im Kontext seiner Gesamtrezeption. Dazu erscheinen ausgewählte Zeitungsartikel, die die polarisierende Aktualität von Beuys spürbar werden lassen.

Im darauffolgenden Teil bietet das Buch einen Überblick über das umfangreiche Programm von »beuys 2021. 100 jahre joseph beuys«. Hier werden die 32 Programmpunkte des Jubiläums, darunter Ausstellungen, Performances, Konzerte, Filmvorführungen, Vorträge, Symposien, Podcasts und ein Labor, in kurzen Essays vorgestellt. Diese gehen ebenfalls der Frage nach, was diesen Künstler so brisant und hochaktuell macht. Sie befassen sich mit seinen Ideen zu Demokratie, Ökologie, Bildung, Kapital und der Möglichkeit eines universellen Subjekts. Gemeinsam erkunden sie Beuys’ komplexes Wirken, hinterfragen seine internationale Ausstrahlung und untersuchen das revolutionäre Potenzial seines Denkens.

Das vielstimmige Band schließt mit einem imaginären Gespräch mit Beuys zu 15 aktuellen Fragen ab. Das mit Originalarbeiten des preisgekrönten, international renommierten Grafikbüros cyan, Berlin bebilderte Geistergespräch bringt zahlreiche Stimmen aus verschiedenen Sparten, Generationen und Kulturen zusammen, die in einen assoziationsreichen, kritischen Dialog mit den bekannten Aphorismen des Künstlers treten. Gemeinsam erkunden sie die Entstehung, Plausibilität und Brauchbarkeit seines Bildes einer von der Kunst hergedachten Zukunft.

herausgegeben von eugen blume und catherine nichols


steidl, göttingen verlag
cyan, berlin buchgestaltung
384 seiten
16,5 × 22 cm
50 schwarz-weiß-, 170 farbabbildungen
vierfarbdruck plus vier leuchtfarben
zwei papiersorten, fadenheftung
herbst 2021erscheinungsdatum
in einer deutschen und einer englischen ausgabe erhältlich
isbn 978-3-95829-956-6
48,00 €

ort wird noch bekannt gegeben